Making History: Female Presidents lead AFL 2021 Grand Final Football Clubs


The Melbourne Demons and the Western Bulldogs will head into the AFL Grand Final next Friday, (24 September) in Perth. For the first time in the history of the AFL the presidents of both football clubs are women.


Kylie Watson-Wheeler has been president of the Western Bulldogs since 2020, while Kate Roffey took the reins at the Demons in April this year.

The Demons, who are looking to break a 62-year premiership drought, only have one woman on their board - the President. The Western Bulldogs, who last won the premiership in 2016, have five women; Kylie Watson-Wheeler (Pres), Fiona McGauchie, Jerril Rechter AM, Belinda Duarte and Lisa Fitzpartick. Only Richmond, led by the legendary Peggy O'Neal AM, has an equal number of women on its board.

Gaye Hamilton, former Non-Executive Director at the Western Bulldogs and now Chair of the Western Bulldogs Community Foundation, spoke to Claire Braund recently about working with kids and animals, her passion for western Melbourne and the Bulldogs.

READ WOB's Lens on AFL Boards analysis HERE


Click HERE to listen to Gaye's story.

WATCH: Our 2016 interview with Gaye to hear her talk about why she joined a sports board

Latest newsRSS