'Rock star' line-up for WOB Members' Christmas Luncheon series


A who’s who of “rock star” Chairs, NEDs and industry leaders have lined up to speak at the Women on Boards’ Members Christmas Luncheon events taking place across the country from 30 November.


From farmer and agricultural leader Fiona Simson and Brisbane Lions AFL Club Chair Andrew Wellington to ASX directors Nancy Fox and Debbie Goodin, WOB has an impressive line-up of guest speakers for its Members’ Christmas Luncheon series.

Eight lunches are being held across the country - in Canberra, Perth, Hobart, Brisbane, Sydney, Gosford, Adelaide and Melbourne. 

“We are looking forward to reconnecting with our members once again and hearing from these rockstar directors and Chairs as they share their insights and learnings to the wider WOB community as we celebrate around the country, ” said WOB Executive Director Claire Braund. 

“WOB Chair, Sheena Wilson, WOB COO, Nicole Donegan and myself will each be attending lunches, and around the country our WOB state representatives Wendy Teasdale-Smith, Anna Hebron, Bettina Pidcock and Dr Kath Hall will also be hosting events and meeting members.

“The events are always insightful and a lot of fun, and give WOB members a chance to reconnect at the end of the year.”

The dates are:

Meet the speakers

Fiona Simson (Canberra, 30 November)

Agricultural leader, farmer and Director of the World Farmers’ Association and President of the National Farmers’ Federation from 2016 to October this year, Fiona Simson joins WOB Director Claire Braund and ACT representative Dr Kath Hall at the National Press Club for the first of our Members Christmas Luncheons. 

An agricultural industry leader at both a state and federal level since 2008, in 2016 Fiona was elected as the first female President of National Farmers Federation in its 40 year history, leading the farm industry through a period of great change, record droughts and record seasons. In that time Fiona was instrumental in the launch of the NFF’s first Diversity in Ag Leadership Program and spearheaded the NFF’s 2030 $100bn Vision, leading new approaches to the stewardship of natural capital and biodiversity. Fiona is also Chair and Commissioner, Australian Centre for International Agriculture Research (ACIAR); Chair, Future Food Systems CRC; Vice President, Director, Chair Policy Committee, The NRMA;  Board Member, Australian Farmers Fighting Fund and Australian Made Campaign Limited and Director of Plantation Trading Pty Ltd

Book here

Nicole Lockwood (Perth, 1 December)

In Perth, WA representative Kylah Morrison will be hosting experienced Chair, Nicole Lockwood. Chair of Infrastructure WA, Airbridge - which specialises in Carbon Capture Utilisation technology (CCU) - and the Malka Foundation, Nicole is an experienced executive, with 20 years working in law, government and consulting including 14 years of board experience on government, corporate and not for profit boards. 

As Director of Lockwood Advisory, Nicole’s background in infrastructure, economic development and community engagement provides her with a unique insight into the complexity of planning and delivering large economic and infrastructure projects in an environment of ever-changing social expectations.

Nicole is also Non-Executive Director, Member Nominations Committee​ & Chair, People and Remuneration Committee, NBN Co Australia, Deputy Chair of Green Building Council of Australia and Board Member of WA Association for Mental Health.

Book here

Andrew Wellington (Brisbane, 6 December)

Join Brisbane Lions AFL Club Chair Andrew Wellington, along with WOB Chair Sheena Wilson and WOB Qld representative Anna Hebron at The Brisbane Club on 6 December. Based in Brisbane, Andrew also recently joined the Board of Herron Todd White Australia as an Independent Non-Executive Director as well as being appointed Deputy Chair of the Board, and Chair of the Finance & Risk Committee.

Book here

Nancy Fox AM (Sydney, 7 December)

Nancy Fox was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in 2021 for her services to the banking and financial sectors and women in business. A NED with ASX-listed Perpetual Ltd, Chair of the People and Remuneration Committee, Member of the Audit and Risk Committee, over the past two decades Nancy has been a director on 15 boards ranging from listed financial services firms to not for profit and arts boards (including 9 years at Taronga Zoo as Deputy Chairman). She is also Chair of Perpetual Equity Ltd and Mission Australia Housing, and NED with Aspect Studios, Mission Australia and the Rural Fire Brigade Benevolence Fund

In her executive career Nancy started life as a lawyer then moved into banking and financial services in the US, Japan, Asia and Australia.  She left the US in 1985, joining Citibank in Japan and later migrating to Australia in 1989 where she held several leadership roles at Citibank, AIDC, ABN Amro,and Ambac Assurance. In 2011, Nancy became a full time non-executive director. She is also a volunteer with the Rural Fire Service.

Book here

Jane Jeffreys AM (Adelaide, 14 December)

Brand South Australia Chair Jane Jeffreys is an accomplished company director and experienced businesswoman with extensive board, executive and consulting expertise across the private, public and not-for-profit sectors. 

She is also a NED with Funds SA and ICT solutions provider Icocane Pty Ltd and Chair of West Beach Parks and Gaming Care - the Australian Hotels Association Early Intervention Agency into helping prevent problem gambling. She leads Jane Jeffreys Consulting, a successful bespoke corporate governance advisory firm from Adelaide, South Australia. In the King’s Birthday 2023 Honours, Jane was awarded Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for her significant service to the community of South Australia through a range of roles.

She will be joined at this luncheon at Electra House, Adelaide by WOB COO Nicole Donegan and WOB SA representative Wendy Teasdale-Smith. 

Read more

Debbie Goodin (Melbourne, 15 December)

Debbie is an experienced non-executive director, Chair and audit committee chair and has held senior leadership positions in both the private and public sectors, worked globally in finance, mergers and acquisitions and operations roles. She is Chair of Atlas Arteria Limited and NED and Chair of Audit and Risk Committee for APA Group and Debbie has extensive director, chair and audit committee experience as well as over 20 years’ senior management experience with professional services firms, government authorities and ASX-listed companies across a broad range of industries and service areas.

Previous board roles include NED, Chair of Finance, Audit and Risk Committee for Australian Pacific Airports Corporation Limited and Senex Energy Limited. She has also been a NED with oOh! Media, a member of the Finance, Investment and IT Committee for The Royal Women's Hospital, NED and  Chair Audit and Risk Committee for TEN Network Holdings Limited and City West Water and NED, Chair of Audit Committee, Member Governance Committee for Beyond Bank Australia. WOB’s Claire Braund and Nicole Donegan will be joining Debbie at the Alexandra Club in Melbourne. 

Book here

Latest newsRSS